Our Governors

Introduction to our Governing Body

Governors do not manage the school day-to-day – that is the job of the Headteacher – but they provide strategic support and monitoring for the two key areas of school life, curriculum and finance. Governors in an academy school like Gretton operate in a similar way to a board of directors or trustees. Governor responsibilities can be split into three core roles:

  • To support and challenge school decisions, particularly where they impact on standards of learning.
  • To provide strategic management and to monitor progress so that the school can continue to develop and improve and can do so with sound finances.
  • To make executive decisions e.g. admissions, staffing, health & safety.
Who are our Governors?

Our Governing Body is made up of volunteers from staff, parents and the local community who freely donate their time, expertise and enthusiasm to help the school be the best it can be.  Governors have a range of different specialisms and experience. This balance of skills and interests is key to successful teamwork between governors and brings relevant knowledge to the committees. The Headteacher and a Staff Governor are always members of the Governing Body.

As we are a small school we operate as one 'Full Governing Body' committee.  Governing working parties are established to address specific issues as they arise.  There are six Full Governor meetings a year lasting about two hours each.  Meetings take place in October, December, January, March, May and July. 

Governors Resonsibilities

  • Monitor standards and other curriculum matters, including statutory requirements
  • Review school policies and performance management arrangements
  • Ensure the well-being and safeguarding of pupils and staff
  • Uphold equality policies and SEN provision
  • Oversee the setting of the school budget and monitor expenditure
  • Monitor financial procedures and reporting
  • Review school policies including pay and other statutory requirements
  • Maintain the school premises and monitors H&S compliance


All Governors are linked to two curriculum subjects where they carry out a monitoring role.

How are our Governors elected?

Co-opted Governors

Nominated and elected by the Governing Body

Parent Governors

Elected by the school parents

Staff Governor

Elected by the school staff

Local Authority Governor

Nominated by the LA and elected into office by the Governing Body

To view current Governors’ membership and attendance, please see the table below.

To contact a Governor

You can contact any Governor through the School Office or by emailing the Clerk: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Governors of Gretton School are:


Governor Type  

Start of Term  

End of Term

(Enid) Anne Hanson (Chair)

Local Authority  



Rachael Netting




Sarah Scott




Susan Maxted




Adam Griffiths


Parent 01.01.2022 31.12.2025

Richard Byng


Parent 01.01.2022 31.12.2025

Richard Woolston (Headteacher)

Ex Officio



Liz Brazier (Clerk to Governors)





 Lisa Davis - Parent Governor - resigned 31.12.2021

Lesley Warmington - Co-opted Governor - resigned 07.02.2022

Members of the Academy

  • Mrs Helen Fisher
  • Mrs Dee Chadwick
  • Mrs Cheryl Cuthbertson


Meet our Governors

Image previewAnne Hanson is the Chair of Governors and is appointed by the Local Authority.  Anne joined the Governing Body in September 2015. She has spent over 40 years in Education in both Gloucestershire and Worcestershire and has held a variety of roles including, Primary Teacher, Deputy Head, Lecturer in Teacher Training and Primary P. E. Advisor (running courses for teachers). Since retiring from teaching, Anne volunteers as a Samaritan and continues to work in Counselling. Anne lives in Gretton with her husband Geoff - recently retired from GE in Bishops Cleeve. Together they enjoy travelling, particularly to India, where they are involved in a residential school for orphans. Geoff and Anne can be seen around the village walking Ruby, their Black Lab. They have 3 grown up children.


S Scott


Sarah Scott is a Co-Opted Governor and was appointed in September 2019.  She has children in Owls and Eagles.  Sarah originally trained as an Environmental Health Officer,  but completed the NHS five year training programme to become a Consultant in Public Health.  For the last four years she has worked as the Director of Public Health for Gloucestershire County Council.  Sarah brings expertise in strategy development, governance and health and wellbeing.  In her spare time she enjoys a good book and running.




S Maxted

Susan Maxted is a Co-Opted Governor and has been a Govenor since November 2019.  Susan qualified as a primary school teacher in 1990 and taught for 5 years before setting up a day nursery in Leicestershire, which she has run for the past 24 years. She has three grown up children, and particularly enjoys travelling when she and her husband can spare the time. She brings considerable knowledge and experience from running her own childcare/education based business and managing a team of 20+ staff.




Governor Attendance Record 2020-2021

Full Governing Body


Meetings attended

Out of a possible


E A Hanson (Chair)



R Woolston (Head)



R Netting 



L Warmington



L Hargreaves 



S Scott

3 6

S Maxted

4 6

No Business Interests declared during academic year 2019-2020